Sports Marc Marquez returns to pole three years later

Marc Marquez returns to pole three years later

Marc Marquez – GIGI SOLDANO / DPPI Media / AFP7 / Europa Press


The Spanish rider Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) has conquered pole position, 1,071 days after the last time, for the MotoGP race of the Japanese Grand Prix, sixteenth round of the Motorcycle World Championship, on a day in which Aron Canet (Kalex) guaranteed himself the first starting position in Moto2 and in which the Japanese Tatsuki Suzuki (Honda) did the same in Moto3.

Three years later and on the same stage as the last time, Motegi, the eighth world champion, won pole position again in a wet Q2, where he beat Frenchman Johann Zarco (Ducati) -who had to go through Q1 – and South African Brad Binder (KTM), who will accompany him on the front row of the grid.

His 1:55.214 in the wet, two tenths better than the Frenchman’s time, earned the man from Cervera to win his 91st World Cup pole position, number 63 in the premier class, all in a day with numerous delays and the cancellation of the third Free practice due to rain.

Meanwhile, among the favorites for the title, Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) -third, 17 points off the lead- will start with an advantage starting from sixth place on the grid, well ahead of the leader, Frenchman Fabio Quartararo (Yamaha), who will start nineth; and second overall, the Italian Francesco ‘Pecco’ Bagnaia (Ducati), twelfth.

Among the Spaniards, Maverick Vinales will start fourth, ahead of Jorge Martin (Ducati) and Aleix himself, and Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda) will do so eleventh. Among those who stayed in Q1, Alex Marquez (Honda) will start seventeenth, Alex Rins (Suzuki) eighteenth and Raul Fernandez (KTM), twenty-second.

In Moto2, the Spanish Aron Canet (Kalex) was the fastest in an eternal Q2 marked by rain. With only four minutes of the session played, the action had to stop and did not resume until more than an hour later; It was then that Corbera’s man set a time of 2:04.939 that gave him pole position.

Next to him will start in the front row his compatriot Fermin Aldeguer (Boscoscuro), who had had the last lap canceled but who, hours later, returned to second place on the grid, and the British Jake Dixon (Kalex).

The leader of the general, Augusto Fernandez (Kalex), will have to climb positions from eleventh but with the peace of mind that his main rival for the title, the Japanese Ai Ogura (Kalex), will start even further behind, thirteenth.

In addition, Jorge Navarro (Kalex) will start the event in seventh position, Alonso Lopez (Boscoscuro) will start twelfth, Albert Arenas (Kalex) seventeenth, Pedro Acosta (Kalex) eighteenth, Marcos Ramirez (MV Augusta) twenty-seventh, Jeremy Alcoba (Kalex) twenty-ninth and Manu Gonzalez (Kalex), thirty and last.

Finally, the Japanese Tatsuki Suzuki (Honda) won pole position in Moto3 against the British Scott Ogden (Honda), unprecedented in the front row, and the Spanish Sergio Garcia Dols (GasGas), who will try to take advantage of his third starting position to get closer in the championship to his teammate and leader of the small category, Izan Guevara (GasGas), who started ninth.

The one from Burriana, 33 points behind the Balearic Islands in the general classification, went through Q1 and was about to cause a surprise in the final ‘qualy’, but suffered a crash at turn 7 with two and a half minutes to go when he was going down his best record.

Meanwhile, Guevara will close the third row in search of climbing positions. In addition, Jaume Masià (KTM) will start tenth, Carlos Tatay (CFMoto) will do so eleventh, Adrian Fernandez (KTM) fourteenth, David Munoz (KTM) sixteenth, Ivan Ortola (KTM) twentieth, Dani Holgado (KTM) twenty-first, Xavi Artigas (CFMoto) twenty-third and Ana Carrasco (KTM), thirty.

Source: Europa Press



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here