NewsLatin AmericaFive ministers are running to succeed Arturo Zaldivar on the Supreme Court

Five ministers are running to succeed Arturo Zaldivar on the Supreme Court

This Monday at 11:59 p.m. the starting whistle blew. Until then, five ministers had registered their projects to preside over the Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation. Alfredo Gutierrez, Javier Laynez, Alberto Perez Dayan, Yasmin Esquivel and Norma Pina have officially presented their candidacy to succeed Arturo Zaldivar as head of Mexico’s highest court of justice. The vote will take place on January 2, in the first session of 2023, and the chosen one needs the support of at least six of the 11 members of the plenary.

This month of December is going to be an intense period of negotiations in the Supreme Court. While the ministers continue to discuss key issues, for example, this Tuesday they will vote on granting an injunction that releases three men accused of kidnapping and protagonists of the documentary Reasonable doubtthey must approach positions to go outlining blocks of candidates.

Read Also:   One Hundred Days of Petro

At first, Arturo Zaldivar, the outgoing president, announced that there were seven ministers interested in the position. Loretta Ortiz stood out from the beginning, since she has only been in the highest court for a year, and Jorge Pardo, for the opposite reason, would not give her time to complete the four years of presidency because she completes her 15-year term in the presidency beforehand. Supreme Court. The same happens with Luis Maria Aguilar, who was already president of the SCJN, which concludes his term in 2024.

Read Also:   Lula leads Bolsonaro by nine points in the polls for the second round

Later, in an interview with EL PAIS, Zaldivar closed the circle to five candidates, of whom he assured that he does not have any favourites: “I will go decanting my vote trying to join whoever I see can generate a greater consensus within the court and , obviously, that he has a suitable profile”.

The term ended yesterday officially and this morning the projects of the candidates have been published. Minister Ana Margarita Rios Farjat and Juan Luis Gonzalez Alcantara Carranca, both appointed in the last period, have decided not to present a proposal. So there are five candidates left. Of them, two were appointed in the six-year term of Felipe Calderon (Alfredo Gutierrez Ortiz Mena and Alberto Perez Dayan, both in 2012), two in that of Enrique Pena Nieto (Javier Laynez Potisek and Norma Pina, in 2015) and the last one, Yasmin Esquivel, with Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador, in March 2019.

Read Also:   Petro asked Maduro for guarantees for the 2024 Venezuelan elections

The Supreme Court has never been presided over by a woman. Minister Norma Pina told this newspaper that she believed it was time for the high court to lead one of them: “If the ministers are consistent with the resolutions they have approved, they should vote for a woman.”

here to newsletter from EL PAIS Mexico and receive all the key information on current affairs in this country


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Read More